November Summary

I re-edited and sent out two older pieces of flash fiction that I had. I started a new short story and made a rough outline of a longer piece I eventually want to work on. The past few months, I’ve been having trouble actually finishing anything new, so I need to work on that in December. I might have to make a rule for myself that I can’t start anything new until I’ve finished an older piece.

I also started work on a horror twine game, which has been very fun so far. I’ve been having a little trouble outlining some of the later parts, since there’s a fair amount of branching options. I maybe should have started with a simpler story, with fewer paths, but I’ll still be able to finish this one, with some more time.

Dragon Age: Inquisition came out in November, which surprisingly actually upped my writing productivity, so I’m pretty proud of my self-restraint.

I also finished reading XO Orpheus this month. The last 20 or so stories didn’t particularly grab me. They were all very good mechanically, I just wasn’t as thrilled with them as I was with the first half of the book. I maybe should have taken a break with something else in the middle, and then I would have liked more of the remainder of XO Orpheus. Brian Aldiss’ “the Hungers of an Old Language” was my favorite story in the later half of the book, and I’m going to go back and re-read Ander Monson’s “In a Structure Simulating an Owl,” because I enjoyed it but couldn’t quite follow some of it.

For December I’m going to start reading Junot Diaz’s Drown.

This entry was posted in Monthly Update. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

