March Summary

In March I got my short story “Crocodiles in Wake” published in the Spring 2015 issue of The First Line.

I’ve been trying to get back in the habit of writing every day, with varying success. My previous job really threw me out of habit, and I’m still trying to build back up.

I’ve got a couple outlines written out, but now I’m having trouble focusing on just one. I think this sort of lack of focus is one of my biggest problems currently as a writer. That and writing dialogue. So, trying to work on both of those while I get back in good writing habits.

Short Stories I read and really recommend:

Ursula K. Le Guin’s “The New Atlantis

Emily B. Cataneo’s “Speaking to Skull Kings

K. M. Ferebee’s “The Earth and Everything Under

I also finally finished Ursula Vernon’s webcomic Digger, which I’d started back in December and then been unable to finish due to my previous job. I really enjoyed it overall. When one of the characters dies near the end Vernon wrote that “Some characters come to you carrying their deaths with them…” I sort of fundamentally disagree with her about how much control characters have over the author versus how much control the author has over the characters, but that is such an amazing sentence. I think it affected me more than the character death itself.

This entry was posted in Monthly Update. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

