June Summary

coverMy story Deep/Dark Space was published in Lightspeed magazine’s Queers Destroy Science Fiction special issue!

There's my piece amongst some other really stellar flash fiction pieces!

There’s my piece amongst some other really stellar flash fiction pieces!

I also saw Alex Winston in concert, which was a wonderful and uplifting moment. Her music has helped me get through some things, and it was amazing to meet her briefly. I’ve talked about this before, but sometimes when I’m especially touched by something, like a movie or a book, or music, I get so driven to create something beautiful as well, in the hopes that my work could reaching someone in the same positive and life-affirming way. Alex Winston’s music does that for me.

Alex Winston was nice enough to sign something for me too

Alex Winston was nice enough to sign something for me too

I got ten story rejections this month, but that just means I have ten pieces I can continue to submit to other places.

My last monthly summary was so triumphant, and this month I just sort of fizzled out, productivity-wise. That’s all right. I’ve been feeling kind of down, in part because I haven’t been as productive, but breaks are important every now and then, and I’m already starting to swing back into things.

Short Stories I read and really recommend:

Mirror Skinned by Kelly Sandoval

Home Isn’t by Kelly Sandoval

Wikipedia Abduction Myth by Oliver Buckram

This entry was posted in Monthly Update, Publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

