Year End/Start Update

I sure am bad at updating this blog! I was going to make it a new year’s resolution, but didn’t bother since I knew I would immediately fail. Evidenced by the fact that I couldn’t even squeak in this update last night, technically still in the first month of the new year. Oh well, second months fine.

I’m going to try and brainstorm some ways to keep this blog relevant, as of now it is living up to its name of mainly just being a repository for links to things I’ve had published. Which isn’t bad, but isn’t the best either.

Anyways 2015 summary!:

I sent out a total of 33 submissions, across 17 stories. So a little more than double the 16 submissions across 8 stories that I did in 2014. I was feeling pretty down about my productivity in 2015, but typing this out just now has bolstered my spirits. Those are some quantifiable results right there. Literally more than double my production in 2014.

Among those submissions I had 4 acceptances! Give them a read.

I’m still waiting on responses for four submissions made at the tail end of the year (and one from 2014 even), so maybe I can retroactively bump up my numbers.

I also made significantly more through submissions in 2015 than 2014. A little over 48 dollars in 2015 versus 1 cent in 2014 (down from 3.00 because I spent part of a payment on a contributor’s copy – which, by the way, generally don’t submit to places that ask for you to buy your own copy).

2015, for as productive as I was writing wise, was a hard year for me. I had a long period of unemployment, which left me feeling aimless, and then two incredibly terrible jobs that were physically and emotionally draining, put me in a really bad place mentally, and caused me to have legitimate health problems that I’m still recovering from. I just recently got a new job, that gives me weekends and holidays and doesn’t actually make me wish I was dead every day, so I have hope for the new year. I even have time for hobbies again! I volunteer as a slush reader at a magazine I like. I’m taking archery and long sword, and hoping to get back into making prints once I have some money for art supplies.

This better phase of my life also leaves me hopeful for my writing prospects. I have time and energy now! While my output in 2015 is still something to be proud of, I knew I could do more if I just was a little more rested and a little less abjectly miserable. A lot of what I produced in 2015 was flash fiction – most of which I’m proud of, and which comes with its own set of challenges in writing and submissions. They were, however, a bit of a constraint. I just didn’t have the ability to work on anything longer. Now I’m excited to have the time to devote to longer work now. I’m working on outlines for a few things that will hopefully become novels with a lot of work, and am already working on several longer short stories.

Here’s to 2016 and a new year of stories.

 

This entry was posted in Monthly Update, Publishing, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

