Nightmare Log 3/30/16

I am driving in my red pickup truck, and it is nighttime.

I am not driving calmly.

Something has chased me off the highway and I am on a back road I do not know.

The road winds through the thick woods, and I can not see behind me, can not see if I am being followed. My headlights shine against the trees, but do not illuminate the forest. It remains dark ahead of me, the reflected light only illuminating a few inches in front of me.

I keep driving – slowly, quietly. I want to gun it, to get away, but worry the rev of the engine will alert the thing that is chasing me. I hope it has lost track of me. Ahead there is a break in the trees, and the area is flooded with light from my car.

A field – solid ground gradually giving way to swampland. And in it a chain-link fence, encircling some sort of pylon that has sunk into the swamp. The fence has a “danger: high-voltage” sign with a skull and crossbones on it.

I stop, thinking I have driven far enough, and that I should turn off the headlights for a bit so nothing can find me. I am spooked still, and I hear crunching in the forest. Too big to be a deer. Too much to be even a heard of deer.

I look back at the swamp. The pylon has sunk deeper. Listing.

The front of my car is beginning to tip, the ground under the wheels dissolving into the muck. I can not turn back, and the crunching continues in the undergrowth.

At the base of the pylon, air bubbles rise to the surface of the brackish water – the last gasping breaths of something drowned. Or the yawn of some vast waking thing.

Something moves beneath the waters of the swamp.

This entry was posted in horror, Nightmare Log, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

